Saturday, November 28, 2009

Wednesday, November 25, 2009

view from the balcony

Yeah, not much to look at, but hey, the rent is cheap. Very cheap.




This is a Watery Wednesday entry.

Santa?

as far as I could tell this store had nothing to do with Santa, or xmas.

Monday, November 23, 2009

they were all silver anyway


and it was cloudy, so it was already practically black and white.

"v" the people

it's automatic here. You point a camera at any random group of people and they all do it immediately. Pavlov's dogs come to mind.

Sunday, November 22, 2009

Lawson station

I love konbinis...

Lawson Station convenience store sign downtown.

A blog post about Japanese konbinis (convenience stores) is here.

Saturday, November 21, 2009

Friday, November 20, 2009

When you don't have a balcony

(or a tumble dryer):

and yes, that is an old fashioned TV antenna in the background.

Wednesday, November 18, 2009

driving to work

in the rain....

Yes, that's the famous Nikko Road.

This is a Watery Wednesday entry.

Monday, November 16, 2009

Grandpa goes to war

From the family album:

Taken in Utsunomiya on Showa 19, March 22 (March 22, 1944). 65 years ago.

grandpa goes to war

This is a Monochrome Monday entry.

Saturday, November 14, 2009

what it says on the sign

yataiyokocho
A very random collection of drinking and eating places. Some of them are rather eclectic, like a Paraguayan-Korean restaurant. One of these days I'll muster up the courage to eat there, LOL.

Friday, November 13, 2009

Wednesday, November 11, 2009

Monday, November 9, 2009

Utsunomiya gyoza matsuri 2009

宇都宮餃子祭り2009, because even dumplings need its very own festival, especially in Utsunomiya:

fest signyep, that's gyoza, Japanese pierogis of sorts.

min min standat the Min-Min stand the wait was about 1 hour. We went to a different stand and only waited about 30 minutes. No pics of actual dumplings, because that stuff is made to be eaten, not photographed.

gyoza statueThis, on the other hand, was made to be photographed. Our very lame but very famous gyoza statue. Yep, in this town we have a statue to honor a dumpling.

Wrote about it here.

Sunday, November 8, 2009

Saturday, November 7, 2009

skywatch friday

somewhere in rural Tochigi

skywatch friday 1

and just a few minutes later:

skywatch friday

Friday, November 6, 2009

clay heaven

that is Mashiko:
ceramics 1

 



a potter's (or a potterer's?) dream (nightmare?):
ceramics 2

 



a plate lover's dream (or a nightmare):
ceramics 3

 



and just a nightmare:
ceramics 4

 



this is what Mashiko looks like twice a year:
ceramics tablesIt turns into one huge marketplace for all things clay.

Thursday, November 5, 2009

at the semi-annual pottery market in Mashiko

The unofficial Mashiko mascot:

tanukinow, I don't know about you, but the breasts and the penis always get me confused.

and its ceramic version:

ceramic tanukis

and this is where I'd gladly put it - behind bars:

behind bars

Wednesday, November 4, 2009

Need a taxi?

taxis
in front of Utsunomiya JR station

I'm using a new computer and I don't really like how the photos look on the new display. So bear with me, because it will be a trial and error process to get them looking all nice and snazzy again.

And yes, we are back on line! woot! woot!
Related Posts with Thumbnails